How To Say “Pay Me” When People Try To TrickWhoops, I Mean “Pick Your Brain”

“Is this about a real client or are we speaking about you?”

“…ummm, one of my clients was stuck making sales in her business but not consistently and by extension it was frustrating her because it was impacting her financial goals.”

Do you remember that scene in the bible, when Nathan picked David’s mouth about his own actions? He presented a parable of how he (David) murdered Uriah, to get his wife, Bathsheba.

Well, there’s nothing new under the sun. “Pick your brain” sessions come in all shapes and sizes today, but it doesn’t change the price of coffee.

  • Do you use yourself as a case study for brain-picking when you create your content?
  • Shouldn’t you be using your content to connect with your ideal clients?

The effort you’re putting in to “mask” your true intentions, will prove more useful to you, paying someone to help you identify and connect with whoever those high-end entrepreneurs are. Because you’ve downloaded the e-books and taken all the free webinars but you’re using your time to fix something that hasn’t been working for a very, very long time. Well, stating the obvious, do-it-yourself is costing you.

Read: How Much Is “Almost Free” Costing You In the Long Run?

Normalize Paying For The Help You Need

Here in Trinidad and Tobago, we have a slang that “every little drop fills the bucket”. And I was just thinking how perfect this context is to disprove such a saying for small service businesses. I mean, you could sell a digital product or ten, put up a membership site and start a paid Facebook group to earn some passive income. But what’s the probability of that not being profitable for your 1-man show despite working with over 500 entrepreneurs?

I too could have easily experienced burnout trying everything in the book and frustrated by the absence of results. Because in my first year of business, the list of what others thought I should be doing was long.

So if anything “every little drop fills the bucket” only FRUSTRATES, and because it does, it’s logical to want a different experience from the work you do.

…Unless frustration is a core value for you?

Consistency Looks Different For 15K, 20K And 30K Services

Let’s be transparent that we mean monthly when we use the word ‘consistent’.

6 years ago while working out the cost of The One-Page Project, I remember monthly being in the back of my mind when I priced the first package. I wanted to be able to do all the things I was able to do when I was working in Port of Spain. But that’s not how your cash flows when you’re selling $6k, $10k, and $15k+ services. I experienced this before someone broke the revelation of the madness.

My thinking: Since cash flows up and down as a high-value service provider making monthly sales impossible, then my thinking about what consistent looks like needs to change, if that’s me.

There are high-value entrepreneurs all over the internet offering their help with this mindset shift, capable of speaking about all the moving parts better than I ever could. If you work with high-end entrepreneurs and you feel like there is a ceiling as it relates to charging more. Do your homework!

But, if you don’t know where your value is positioned or how to talk about it…

Book TheBrandConductor

“My Teeth Are A Bit Straighter, But I Can’t Bite Well Any More”

“My thoughts and aims were brought to light in a way I couldn’t envision on my own”
-Dr Toni-Marie Elias | CEO of Dr Toni-Marie Elias

It’s impossible to rescue someone from danger they can’t see or relate to as dangerous. In situations like this, being direct works especially when your brand isn’t about your cutting edge technology but people!

“Prepare For Future Loss Minus The Runaround For Your Money In 1–6 Days”

“The designers ability to see into the words the customer convey’s and to actually add life to it, is truly a gift.”
-Kristen Scott-Beckles | CEO of XN General Insurance

XN General built a baby Beacon brand which doesn’t help make the best first impression when you’re trying to introduce who you are to more people. When all else fails, just be you because everyone else is taken!

“Get The Road-Map For Executing Your Building Or Remodeling Project Within Budget And On Time!”

“The design interview for me (a fellow designer) speaks to my clients needs.”
-Claudan Mayers | CEO of CDSL

With an Ansa McAl project hanging in the near future, Contemporary Design Studios Ltd. 1-Day One-Page Project focused on showing off the work the company does as a more elite service as the CEO’s main concern was “not looking credible enough to work with.”

If you want to bring to life the value of what you do through verbal and visual cues TheBrandConductor is the first step to The One-Page Project.

I am the Founder and Visual Brand Strategist at The BrandTUB

Sign up to receive these weekly articles in your inbox if you’re not quite ready to work with me yet.

And please share my article if you liked it

--

--

Ciji Shippley: Visual Brand Strategist

Founder of TheBrandTUB® | SHAKE THE COCK N BULL STORIES killing your visual brand.